Rooting the HTC Evo 3D and getting Ice Cream Sandwich goodness on it.

Posted: 12/05/2012 in Mobile
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 I purchased this phone from ASDA a couple of months back as they had it for what I thought was a cracking price of £229 sim free. I quickly rooted it and put on the LeeDroid ROM but as most people know, Google released Ice Cream Sandwich back in November and HTC are still yet to update this device with an official Ice Cream Sandwich update. It’s a story that never changes though as manufacturers and networks and appalling at getting updates out to their devices in a reasonable time.  In this day and age it really is disgraceful that they can take the Michael like they do. Whilst most devices have been able to have customs ROM’s with Ice Cream Sandwich that hasn’t been possible for the Evo 3D mainly due to the “Unique” dual 5mp camera that is on the back of the phone. You could get custom ICS roms but the camera wouldn’t work… Until a few days ago.

 You see some awesome person at either HTC or Virgin leaking the test version of the Evo 3D ICS rom to the public, allowing the dev community to get the files they needed to get various parts of the phone working with Google‘s latest operating system. Some people are noticing a few hiccups but I have to say that I’m finding it a flawless experience. Instagram doesn’t work but everything else is wonderful (and Chrome Beta and Boid are amazing apps).

 Whilst most people managed to get their phones updated with no problems, I spent 2 days banging my head against it. Here is what I posted on the HotUKDeals Evo 3D page. It might help some people if they are having issues too.

I purchased this phone a couple of months back and for the most part I’ve been running the LeeDroid Gingerbread ROM after I had unlocked the boot loader via the HTCDEV website. About a week ago a test ICS ROM for our devises was leaked, which is great as it meant the dev community could finally put an ICS ROM together with everything working (including 3D camera). To install the new ones however you need to install the latest firmware.

For two nights I tried for hours and hours (up until around 6:30am), trying to get my boot loader “relocked” so that I could run Revolutionary and achieve S-OFF which is required if you want to flash your own firmware. Nothing would work. I scoured XDA for tips and none of them would work. Even the advice from the HTCDEV wouldn’t “relock” the boot loader. So what I had to do was the following.

1) I downloaded the official HTC Gingerbread ROM and saved it to my desktop. (DON’T RUN IT YET)

2) I downloaded HTC Supertool V3 and making sure my device had “USB Debugging” checked, I ran the programme

3) I then chose to “Lock the device” which finally set my phone’s boot loader to relocked. Don’t worry if it says “Security Warning” and doesn’t let you go past the boot loader. That’s fine at this point.

4) I then ran the official HTC Rom from my desktop (#1) and it went through the process of installing it. Reverting my phone back to how it was when it was purchased. The boot loader stayed as “Relocked” though.

So far what this has done is it has relocked the boot loader and reverted everything back to how it was when it was purchased, so HTC Sense running Gingerbread 2.3

To achieve S-OFF from here

1) Follow the instructions here from point 4 as 1-3 are not needed for Evo 3D’s purchased from ASDA. (The mentioned link for the PG86IMG is broken but you can get it from here

2) Once that is done, go to the Revolutionary website and follow the instructions there. After this you should have achieved S-OFF, which means you can get some ICS goodness. When it asks if you want to install Clockwork Recovery say YES.

Installing ICS ROMS

1) Before proceeding, make sure the PG86IMG.ZIP file from earlier in this thread is now deleted off the memory card.
2) Download the ICS PG86IMG.ZIP from here and put onto the memory card.

3) Restart the device into boot loader and let it install this firmware.

4) Reboot the device, put it into “Disc drive mode” and delete the zip PG86IMG.ZIP (alternatively you could do this via a memory card reader).

5) Download an ICS custom ROM. I’ve been using the Virtuous one here

6) Place that onto the memory card, and then start the phone again into the boot loader. From the boot loader go into recovery choose “install zip from sdcard” and select the ROM you put on there. Clockwork Recovery will do the rest from there.

This is what I had to do to get Ice Cream Sandwich onto my device. I know it’s long-winded but if anyone else is struggling I hope this helps. I’m glad I’ve got it on though as it’s so buttery smooth

Well that was three days and since then my phone has been enjoying some long overdue ICS goodness. HTC might fire off e-mails/announcements saying that these roms are not officially supported and they will void the warranty but at the end of the day if they would pull their fingers out then people wouldn’t have to turn elsewhere to get what they should have got months ago.

Comments
  1. fayawaya says:

    got bricked :(

Leave a Reply

