Gaming Rut

Posted: 14/08/2011 in Gaming
Tags: , , ,

So recently I’ve been stuck in a rut with gaming. World of Warcraft hasn’t really been doing it for me since Cataclysm. In my opinion Blizzard have made so many mistakes and in my opinion there appears to be a massive gulf now between the general player base at the WoW development team.

Anyway luckily Valve made Team Fortress 2 free to play and i have to say that I’ve become quite hooked on it. For those who haven’t played it is a team based FPS. It’s extremely fun even though I’m not that good at it. I normally pick either Sniper or Spy. It is a very good game and anyone who used to enjoy games like Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory and the like would enjoy this and hey, it’s free to play off Steam. Well worth it.

When i want a gaming break from TF2 I’ve got back into Rift again. Initially I started playing Rift during the last beta and carried on through launch. I played it for a month before returning to WoW. Why did I return? Well even though I thought Rift was extremely polished for a launch MMO I felt like the time wasn’t right for me to drift to another MMO. Last week I decided to reinstall Rift and give it another go. Needless to say I am fully enjoying it. The graphics are gorgeous, and the gameplay is extremely smooth and even though the dungeon LFG is across all shards, and everyone I’ve stumbled across so far has been extremely friendly and will even take the time to explain certain things if you ask them. At the moment I have a 21 Chloromancer Mage and a 15 Shaman Cleric.

I’m always looking for new games to play, whether it be an MMO, RPG, Civ style or something goes completely different but with these two games I am having a real blast and right now I honestly can’t see myself returning to WoW for the moment, but I’m not fully quitting that game. I might write a post about what I think has gone wrong some other time but for now I will say… Team Fortress 2 and Rift for the win.

Leave a Reply

