My Opinion on the Patch 4.3 “Looking For Raid” Feature

Posted: 23/08/2011 in World of Warcraft
Tags: , , , ,

When I first heard that Blizzard were going to implement I “Looking For Raid” feature that was similar to the current “Dungeon Finder” I was filled with “Oh dear god!”. Despite this the more and more that I have thought about it, the more and more I have come to the conclusion that this could actually be a really good addition for the game.

Now before I quickly write about the pro’s to do with this I will quickly say that like the Dungeon Finder you will have your typical tosspots, those who were dropped on their heads at birth, or those who rolled warlocks. You’ll get those who add nothing but the group but grief and aggravation. That is nothing that we haven’t seen before, obviously this time it’ll be on a 10 or 25 man scale.

What I do think the Looking for Raid feature will achieve is people who can’t necessarily attend raids at the times of the guilds on their server or can’t afford/don’t want to pay for a server transfer. It’ll allow these players the chance to hop into a raid. What I also think it’ll do is that it could help out the “nostalgia” players a great deal. I’m talking about those players who stop their character at level 60. 70 or even now 80 so that they can experience the raids at those levels. It could potentially allow those people to find raids faster for instances like Molten Core, Blackwing Lair, Tempest Keep, etc. It’ll also allow those who normally raid to be able to hop in and maybe attend some raids a tier or two lower than what their guild is currently running.

My personal opinion is that maybe, it could revitalise some of the raids both old and new. I don’t think the latest tier raids should be in the feature but any raids below the latest, all the way down to Molten Core, should in my opinion be there. I do think this feature has real potential and it will be interesting to see how it works out over time.

Comments
  1. Nochecazador says:

    I like your idea of making it for the older raids and not current content right off the bat. It seems very fair and does not hold the potential to reduce guilds to rubble.

  2. […] 2 My Opinion on the Patch 4.3 “Looking For Raid” Feature  1 comment August 2011 […]

  3. Addidas Logo says:

    Addidas Logo…

    […]My Opinion on the Patch 4.3 “Looking For Raid” Feature « Lashings of Liam[…]…

Leave a Reply

