It Is Not An Excuse

Posted: 08/11/2011 in General
Tags: ,

I was on the bus heading home from work on Friday when this one guy gave me a perfect idea for a post…

It is 4:40pm on a Friday and after another busy day at work (christmas in retail. Yuk!), I’m sitting there on the bus when this man in his 50’s gets on with a walking stick. Now the bus was packed so when he got on there were no seats. The woman who was sitting on the front seats (disabled and elderly take priority there), gave up her seat for him. Nothing wrong with that I hear you say and quite right, but it was the way it happened that left a sour taste in my mouth.

If he went to her, “excuse me, those seats are a priority for disabled, do you mind if I sat there instead?” I would have thought “that’s fair enough”, but he didn’t do this. What he did instead was the following…

… “Do you know that seat is for disabled?” … “Yes I do” was the reply … “No?” … “Yes” … “Then get your arse off the chair then!”

I thought that this was utterly disgusting. Just because you are disabled or injured does not give you a god given right to be rude and obnoxious like that. The lady who was previously sitting down should have been given the same amount of courtesy and respect and he would expect towards him.

Nobody has a god given right for anything. If you want respect you have to earn it. If you want to be treated with kindness and manners then you should treat others that way.

It is a pet hate of mine that people should just expect stuff because of their situation. “I have 16 kids, the council should supply me with a house”. Why? You were the dumbass who chose that route.” There’s a big problem in this country that people expect things to be done for them. Some can’t even be bothered to get jobs.

On Thursday for example there was a group interview at my place for new recruits at christmas. 12 were meant to turn up, only 6 bothered. 50% couldn’t be bothered to turn up. What do I think of that 50%? Some might have genuine reasons. They might have found a permanent full-time position elsewhere and fair play to them, others may have changed their minds due to a sudden change of circumstances, again fair enough. There will be some however who didn’t turn up simple because they would have had to had worked for the first time in their lives. They would have had to of contributed to the country, and heaven forbid they did that! They want to sit at home, watching crap like Jeremy Kyle and not giving a damn about anyone while they sponge off the state.

Am I being unreasonable in thinking that everyone should have to pay their way and if they can’t then they should at least treat people with the sort of respect that they want to be treated themselves? Is it so wrong of me to believe that is how people should behave towards other people?

Sorry that this post was a bit of a jumbled rant. When I saw what I saw on the bus my mind was suddenly filled with “I must jot that down!” And thus, I did 🙂

Comments
  1. Lord Kaladar says:

    For a moment I almost forgot you’re in the the UK!

Leave a Reply

