Enjoyment in WoW? It’s Different For Everyone

Posted: 07/01/2012 in World of Warcraft
Tags: , ,

It’s a topic i’ve been thinking about covering for a while and with what I read in trade chat, it’s made me decide that it’s worth posting about. The conversation I saw in trade chat went like this…

Player X – LF people to do level 80 heroic dungeons achievements with

Player Y – LOL! Who wants to do level 80 dungeons now!

Player X – For Achievements

Player Y – That’s just lame!

This made me think, while it may be lame for you, it may not be lame for the next person. This I can vouch for in my long history playing World of Warcraft. I can list activities in WoW that I have done that i’m sure some will relate to and others will think “god! How sad!”, and that is exactly what i’m about to do!

Realm Hopping

Back in vanilla WoW, when the game population was expanding at an alarming pace and Blizzard struggled to keep up with new realms, I was someone who used to enjoy hoping from new realm to new realm. Why did I do this? Well before cross-server anything, each new realm had this great freshness feeling about it. It had a feeling of anything is possible and everyone was starting from zero. There was also the first Warsong Gulch. As soon as enough people would get to level 10 the first battleground would open. Everyone would be level 10 apart from one Paladin or Shaman who somehow would be level 12. Everyone would have grey gear, apart from maybe the lucky few who managed to snag a green item whilst killing mobs. For me, this was Warsong Gulch in it’s purest form. Obviously this disappeared when cross-server battlegrounds came into play and twinks came into Ā being.

Purely PvPing

Once I finally hit level 60 on a character I decided that I didn’t want to wait as IĀ perceivedĀ (wrongly) that raiding was only for those who had nothing else to do in their lives, so I focused on PvP. I used to love hitting the old school Alterac Valley or Warsong Gulch before their were time limits or “resources”. Arathi Basin was around too but AV and WSG always had my focus. I managed to grind my way up to “Legionnaire” which compared to some people wasn’t that great an achievement but for me, I was quite proud (also hell, Legionnaire is an awesome title!). Since then I’ve dipped into the PvP scene twice, once was between TBC and Wrath when mages were like “haha Arcane Barrage!” and then in Cataclysm when I realised that raiding was no longer for me. Speaking of raiding!

Raiding

See how I managed to slide into this segment? How awesome am I? All right, so it was totally unintentional but you know what? I’ll take it! Anyway raiding!

After playing WoW since April 2005, six months before The Burning Crusade I decide that I would finally dip my feet into raiding. I wasn’t expecting much but I joined a guild and entered Molten Core. What I found totally surprised me. I found out that I enjoyed the raiding experience and loved Molten Core (yes I know! I’m probably one of only a few people who enjoyed that place), and from then one my sole focus was raiding. Went through Molten Core, Zul’Gurub and Blackwing Lair, dipped my toe into Ahn’Qiraj and Naxxramas but never completed them. Burning Crusade came and again, with the exception of the last month before Wrath was released my sole focus was clearing Karazhan, Zul’Aman, Serpentshrine Cavern, Tempest Keep, Mount Hyjal and Black Temple. Sunwell Plateau was in TBC for me what Naxxramas was for me in vanilla. I managed to dip my toe in but never really got anywhere.

I was still finding the experience to be fun, doing something with 24 other people (39 in vanilla), was a great feeling. The banter on Ventrilo, the friendly rivalry between players of the same class all added up to a great experience. I’m sure every guild at one point or another had something like the following…

Right, we’ve never killed this boss before, so <Player X>, as we always seem to kill a boss when you die first, go say hello to him now.

As mentioned I took, and to be honest so did almost everyone else, a short hiatus from raiding between The Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King, but once I hit level 80 I went through it again, and I found that my enjoyment of the raiding scene didn’t diminish. All the way through Naxxramas, Ulduar, That Tier 9 raid that everyone would much rather forget about and Icecrown Citadel. I found the same banter and friendly rivalry and the driven goals to still be there and I loved every second of it.

This all changed when Cataclysm hit. With how detached I felt from the game in general I found it hard to get into the raids, also I think my brain was telling me “okay mate, raiding time is up”, so I found other ways to amuse myself, one of which was returning back to PvP the other was the Auction House

Money, Money, Money

With not much else to do for me in the game, due to Cataclysm not grabbing me at all. With the dungeons long and boring and raiding not for me, I spent the majority of my time in the auction house. I had downloaded TradeSkillMaster and Auctionator and being a Jewelcrafter I had a lot of fun buying uncut gems, cutting them and placing them back on the AH for a profit. I used to also check to see if any items were on there for below vendor price (you’d be surprised). I really did enjoy doing this, and at the end of my EU account I had around 180k gold. I know some people have had a lot more then that, but for me, I enjoyed that amount.

During Cataclysm, my main aim wasn’t to see how much gear I could get, or how far in raiding I could progress, but it was to see how much gold I could make and for the most part it was engaging and fun!

Achievement Hunting

I will always remember when achievements were introduced into World of Warcraft, all of a sudden I had a ready made to do list and off I went. I enjoyed seeing the little “plaque” pop up and the achievement sound. It was with this that I got the greatest amount of “abuse” from fellow players and even my own guild members. Quite often I would be called “sad” because my focus was on trying to get as many achievement points as I could get. I said the following to them and I would recommend that anyone who is enjoying something in World of Warcraft to say the same too…

When you pay my subscription, then you can dictate to me what I can and can not enjoy!

At the time of my EU account expiring, my main was on I believe 10075 achievement points.

Reputation Grinding

There were some reputations that I hated to grind (how are you doing Netherwing?), but there were others that I absolutely loved. The two main ones that spring to mind that I loved grinding were the Shattered Sun and Timbermaw, with honourable mentions for the Skyguard and Consortium. I don’t know why I enjoyed doing it, as it certainly wasn’t for the items at exalted. If I had to pin it down to anything I would have to say that at max level it was nice to see an experience type bar still moving, albeit this time instead of experience it was reputation.

Final Comments

There were and still are other things to be done in the game that I didn’t find enjoyable myself. For example some people like working towards having every class at max level, others like having every profession at maximum. You also get people who just love to do arena’s, rated battlegrounds whilst others like to sit around in their capital city all day and chat in trade chat.

At the end of the day enjoyment in World of Warcraft is in the eye of the beholder. It can come in the littliest of things (and achievement or a new item of gear), or it can come in the grandest of things (a world first). This is something that is also as true in real life as it is inside a computer game…

As long as you are enjoying doing what you are doing, and as long as it isn’t affecting someone else’s enjoyment then carry on doing it. At the end of the day you are paying the subscription fee so you choose to do what will engage you.

The World of Warcraft community is a diverse community with different opinions, different thoughts and just like real life everyone has their own hobbies, their own enjoyment criteria. If you are someone who mocks others for what they do in the game then ask yourself this …

Let people enjoy what they are doing, they aren’t harming you and wouldn’t it be boring if everyone enjoyed the same thing?

Thank you for reading.

Comments
  1. Cymre says:

    I still remember doing an AV match that lasted 8 hours…

  2. […] playing the game I spent the majority of time jumping from one new realm to another. As discussed hereĀ I used to love the new realm experience soĀ every timeĀ Blizzard opened a new realm, I would be […]

Leave a Reply

