Gaming? I’m not too sure.

Posted: 13/02/2012 in Gaming, Personal
Tags: , , , ,

 So recently I have been finding myself more and more detached with gaming, in brief spells I still enjoy a multiplayer game of Modern Warfare 3 or even a trip down memory lane with Championship Manager 2001/02, but compared with how I used to play games my interest in them has decreased dramatically.

 I first started “gaming”, when I was around 7 years old and I was purchased a Spectrum ZX. The very first game I had was Bullseye and you needed to use the gun to “aim” the dart. It was good fun and all, but as I played around with an Amstrad CPC464, a BBC Microcomputer (why it was called micro I’ll never know as the floppy disc was a big as my house), and an Amiga A500, I was more interested in writing programming code. By programming code I mean…

10. Print “Would you like to see this message again?”

20. If 10 = Y then 10 else 30

30. End.

So the above might not be exactly how I used to write it as that was a long time ago and I’ve since forgotten, even when I had a SNES and a Mega Drive my gaming didn’t go above “moderately interested”. It’s only really when I got a Playstation 2 and a PC that could actually do more than just blink at me, was when I really started to get into games.  I would spend hours upon hours playing Smackdown! and Grand Theft Auto 3 on the PS2 and Civ 2 or CM97/98 on the PC, but again It only really rose to “slightly addicted”.

This all changed in 2003 when I moved into my current property. All of a sudden I could get broadband, so I called you BlueYonder (who are now Virgin Media) and all of a sudden I was away from dial-up with my own dedicated internet connection. What did this mean? This meant that I could play multiplayer games and this is where most other things basically ground to a halt. I was hooked initially on a small game called Uniball, before moving to Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory, occasionally I would dip my toes into Civ 3, Civ 4, CM01/02 but online gaming is where my attention was. This was when the big juggernaut hit me.

World of Warcraft! Now it’s unfair to blame myself sitting in front of the computer hour after hour on WoW as I was already at that stage, but it definitely rooted me down to the spot. During the worst periods, on my days off, I would set my alarm for 7am, and play right through until 1am, only taking breaks to eat, drink and visit the bathroom. In 2009 when I decided to quit WoW, I went straight into Call of Duty and played online on that instead. The only time I was ever able to break this cycle was during 2010, when I went through a 2 month phase of getting hooked on the Warcraft novels. Since 2012, well since November 2011 really, this vicious routine has slowly been altering. It had started with me playing less and less WoW. It has got to the point where at the moment I will sometimes play for an hour or two once a fortnight. At first it was replaced with Team Fortress 2 or Modern Warfare 3, and whilst I still play the latter, even that I find myself becoming less interested in.

It has got to a stage now, where I will load up a game then within 10 minutes, I will go “you know what? I don’t want to play this”, and thinking that it’s just the game I will go load up another game only for the same thing to happen. Is it that I’ve finally burnt myself out when it comes to gaming? Is it that gaming nowadays is nowhere near as enjoyable as they once where? Is it that I’m finally thinking that it’s about time I put the “joy pad” down and ventured into other hobbies? I really don’t know, it could be one of these or it could be a mixture of all three.

For most people this would probably be a no brainer. For some people they will turn around and say “well if you aren’t enjoying doing that, then go do something else”, and here’s the problem. Do what? Over the past 9 years the majority of my free time when I’m by myself has been spent playing online games. I need to find something that grabs my interest, I need to find something that I will enjoy and that overtime I could become good at.

I like to write. Even though my posting has been  pretty sparse recently. I do enjoy typing on a keyboard and posting articles. My biggest issue though is that quite often I will sit there with a topic in mind and …. NOTHING! Absolutely nothing will come out.  It’s definitely something I will keep doing though.

Nickie, my other half, as well as being an excellent writer is also a fantastic photographer. I look at some of the photo’s she takes and I wonder to myself “could I do that?” The answer to that is maybe again, although not with as much certainty as writing. With her permission I might show some of the photographs that she has online. It’s the way she can capture objects that makes me go “wow, these are fantastic shots”. Anyway!

Another option is reading. Now I’ve never been a heavy reader. I’ve tried on numerous occasions, even at one stage purchasing a Kindle, and whilst I will start enthusiastic, very quickly i will get bored and will either switch off, or go do something else. I’m pretty sure that for me, reading is off the table, at least in large quantities anyway.

I guess only time will tell what my true hobbies should be. Gaming? Writing? Reading? Or something completely different? Right now, I have no idea, but I hope I will find out soon. 🙂

Comments
  1. Lord Kaladar says:

    I find myself doing all these things in cycles, really. Few weeks or in some cases, months, at a time.

    Lately, I play 30mins to an hour of WoW, depending if anyone is online, or if I feel like playing an alt. Otherwise, I’ll do a few rounds of Fruit Ninja. Lately, my nephews finally have Xbox live accounts, and we played Red Dead Redemption multiplayer during the Triple-XP weekend.

    Overall, though, I don’t even think I’m comfortable calling myself a gamer anymore. I have a fairly good PC, an ‘white’ (read: old) Xbox 360, a 3DS & DS Lite (both gifts), but rarely do I buy titles because I can’t devote enough attention long enough to get interested in them. Or, I get interested, but something comes up and I put it down too long to know what was going on, heh heh.

  2. Morrigu says:

    Have periods like that too. Right now I play WoW but that’s about it. My consoles haven’t been used for anything but DVDs since Xmas. I’m also finding it hard to find books I like, the stuff I normally like bores me.

    But with me I’m pretty sure it’s because I’m impatiently waiting for ME3, and anything I play reminds me it’s not It. It’s happened in the past as well, and I always end up going back to what I enjoy. Anyway, a bit a variety is good for you.

Leave a Reply

