RIP Android Market. Hello Google Play *mini rant*

Posted: 08/03/2012 in Mobile
Tags: , , ,

Today I had an update on my phone, I logged into the Android Market and noticed that the layout had changed. I thought “hmm, that’s actually not too bad” however what followed next in my opinion is the most dumbest thing that Google have done with the Android platform yet.

Anyone who knows me who has read my blog or tweets will know that on the whole I’m a fan of Google. I think their mobile platform is far superior then the others out there and unlike the evil fruit who sues you if you sneeze, I don’t see them as that bad a company. So for me to as critical as I’m about to be is extremely rare. So what is it that the Big G has done?

As from today “Android Market” is no more. Google in their infinite wisdom have decided to rebrand it to “Google Play” and “Play Shop”. I’m sorry but what? Which idiot at Mountain View thought that it would be a good idea to change the name of something that EVERYONE knows? You say “Android Market” and the majority of people are going to know what you are talking about. You say “Google Play” and people will be like “what?!?”

I know they wanted to take on the Apple ecosystem but really? Change the layout, change how apps, movies and games are downloaded and such but don’t change a name that has been around for the best part of 4 years now. People are used to it. They say that “Market” suggests that it’s a “downtown” type thing, but to me the term “Market” means I go there and get what I want. “Google Play” just doesn’t say that me.

In my opinion it’s a terrible rebrand and I really hope that Google come to my way of thinking (they probably won’t but hey-ho) and realise that it’s as idiotic as their Google Buzz experiment. This needs writing off as a bad idea and needs writing off now. Viva la Android Market!

Comments
  1. I’m still trying to like it.

Leave a Reply

