Why the Nexus 7 is perfect for me.

Posted: 25/07/2012 in Technology
Tags: , ,

Firstly hello world. It’s been a couple of months since I last posted anything but I thought now would be a good time to pipe up.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock recently, you will know that Google has released a small product called the Nexus 7. A 7″ tablet with extremely good specs for under £200. For me the tablet was a no-brainer. I had to get it.

image

This isn’t going to be a review about the tablet as you can go anywhere for that, but what this is, is an opinion. It’s why for me, the Nexus 7 fits perfectly for what I want from a tablet. I own a Blackberry Playbook and under the Nexus came along I would challenge anyone to find me a 7″ tablet that is as smooth or feels as powerful as the Playbook.

I can see some people now thinking “the operating system is terrible” or “the app selection even after 2.0 is atrocious” and I’d agree but I’m talking about just on hardware performance alone. For me it was the best tablet of its size around performance wise. There is a however in all of this and it’s what was mentioned at the start of this paragraph. The Playbook never stood a chance in all honesty. The OS is severely limited, in the UK they have a $1 = £1 pricing policy for apps which means we get royally screwed over on our little island and most importantly the apps just aren’t there. For a tablet or for any mobile ecosystem to thrive nowadays, the app support has to be there. The Playbook has gained some traction with developers but some of the big guns aren’t there. For example, there is no Skype, no Netflix, no Google+. There isn’t even an official Twitter app for it. I could go on.

Why am I talking about the Playbook and not comparing it to the iPad for example? The reason is simple. The Nexus wasn’t released with the intention of going up against Apple’s behemoth. It was released for two reasons in my opinion. 1) To show off Google Play’s ecosystem which is still growing (music and tv shows in the UK please!), and 2) it shows manufacturers what an Android tablet should feel like, should perform like. Adding a third, it also shows the consumers that an Android tablet can pack a hefty punch. Even though I don’t think it was designed to compete with the iPad, the court loving fruit still seems to be worried, hence all the leaks about a possible iPad mini.

Anyway I digress. There’s been an awful lot of complaints about the lack of a micro sd card slot and about the lack of a HDMI output and none of them bother me. I have no plans to link the device up to a television, nor am I too bother about space. I only purchased the 8gb model but that’ll be enough for me. Any documents and such, I’ll quite happily store on Google Drive. Any shows I want to watch, I’ll quite happily stream. The other complaint I have read is that it has no rear facing camera. I’ve never quite understood why someone would want to stand there taking a photo with their tablet anyway. Makes no sense to me.

As for why the device is perfect for me? I feel I can watch video on it wonderfully, I can play games which means my phone can get a breather (apart from texting and making calls, my phone barely gets used when I’m near a wifi connection), even writing on it isn’t an issue, for example I’m using the WordPress app on the Nexus now to write this article. Web browsing is slick and so far I still haven’t been able to make the thing slow down and stutter, no matter how much I throw at it. Also for me the 7″ size is perfect. I find 10″ versions to be too big and not ideal for whipping out when I’m on the bus or eating my lunch.
It’s not to say that the device and the ecosystem itself is perfect. It’s not. There are still some things that I would like to see adjusted, or added. A good example of these is firstly the keyboard. While the Jelly Bean keyboard is nice and very user-friendly, it pales in comparison with SwiftKey. Lacking from the Android ecosystem is the ability to wireless print straight from the device, without using a third-party application.

I’m sure the wireless printing must be on the way. Google wants enterprises to take Android more seriously and that would be something that would help.

The Nexus 7 isn’t for everyone. For some it’ll be too small, for others it’s using the wrong operating system, or doesn’t have some “premium additions” that they think they need, but for me it does everything I want a tablet to do, and it does them extremely well.

Comments
  1. If I did not already have my ainol 7 inch tablet I would be all over the Nexus 7.

    I can already print via wireless using Google Cloud printing and an app called Print Share. For those small Enterprises that are already using things such as Drive, setting up the cloud printing should not be an issue. It also removes the driver issue that can some times be a problem.

    • guillinuk says:

      I was tempted by the Ainol as I’ve heard some good things about it, however when Google announced the Nexus 7 there really wasn’t any competition.

      • True. I’m going to have to research to find out what it’s going to take to get Jelly Bean, but it’s no rush becasue ICS is nice on my tablet. I wish it was on my phone, but I have a feeling I’ll be on Jelly Bean on a new phone before Moto puts ICS on my Atrix.

  2. I do think that the Nexus will compete with the iPad in the sense that I have already spoken to people who have chosen an N7 over a iPad. Some people just prefer the size, and price!

    Personally I think most of the pros and cons of the two devices are debatable and down to personal taste, but I can’t help feeling that the Nexus 7 will have a greater mainstream appeal. Time will tell of course, but either way, I’m very happy with mine.

  3. Kyle says:

    Hi, can you tell me if you can play WoW on the Google nexus 7, or iPad for that manner? My son wants a tablet or iPad for his birthday. Thanks

Leave a Reply

